Guest Map

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 9.12.05 AM

For the past couple weeks I have been working on a map of Charleston, South Carolina. Several years back, I was asked to create a similar map for the town of Tomball, Texas. The lady was asking for a map to handout to her wedding guests that were from out of town. She didn’t give me much more implication of what she wanted other than that. This concept was new to me; handing out maps to wedding guests that are from out of town, with all the local attractions on it. I didn’t really know what to expect, and I had zero idea what the “client” wanted out of it. Nonetheless, I had a lot of fun creating the map. That project was done with my own hand, combined with a sketchy drawing site. It serves as the inspiration for this element of my semester final project.

I have enjoyed using legitimate software to create this piece, because in comparison to the Texas map, the lines are much cleaner, crisper, and defined. As you can see, it is unfinished, but the style is developing, and it will only get easier from here.

I created most of this photo in the Adobe Draw app for iPad, then transferred it to my computer through creative cloud. My “fetish” all semester has been the trace tool. I love this tool, because I am not a fan of drawing with the mouse. I find it difficult to get things to look just like I like them to by using the mouse. So tracing allows me to draw on my own, and also get that digital look and quality that I want.

As you can see from the photo above, I used the shape of South Caroline itself, instead of using just the cape area of Charleston. I used this same method for my Texas map, because it ads character and charm to the visual of it.

Below are just some close-ups of the artifacts that I am adding to my map:

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.50.12 AM

Rainbow Row

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.50.32 AM

Rice Mill

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.51.20 AM

Location of the Wedding

This element is up in the air right now. I’m not sure I like how it represents the location of the wedding. Also, the typography in it is rough. I might try and smooth it out if I can.

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.58.15 AM

Nautical Compass

Leave a Reply

